15 Books – In no particular order

Don’t take too long to think about it. Fifteen books you’ve read that will always stick with you. First fifteen you can recall in no more than 15 minutes. Tag 15 friends,or not because I am all about free will, but link back to me (unless you list them in the comments) because I’m interested in seeing what books you choose.

1.) The World According to Garp by John Irving

2.) Gone with The Wind by Margaret Mitchell

3.) The Car by Gary Paulson

4.) The Stand by Stephen King

5.) Captains and Kings by Taylor Caldwell

5.) I’ll Take Manhatten by Judith Krantz

6.) Then Again, Maybe I Won’t by Judy Blume

7.) Night Shift by Stephen King (short story collection)

8.) The Alchemist by Paul Coehelo

9.) Anne of Green Gables by L.M. Montgomery

10.) The Belegariad (five book series) by David Eddings

11.) The Dragon Riders of Pern by Anne McCaffrey

12.) Harriet the Spy by Louise Fitzhugh

13.) The Thorn Birds by Colleen McCullough

14.) Firestarter by Stephen King

15.) The Lord of the Rings by J.R.R. Tolkein

Interesting point of fact, except for The Alchemist and The Car, I read all the others by the time I was twenty-five, and I have read all of them except The Alchemist more than once.

17 thoughts on “15 Books – In no particular order

  1. 1. Glass Castle, Jeanette Walls
    2. Pride and Prejudice, Jane Austen
    3. Are You There God, It’s Me Margaret, Judy Blume
    4. Lucy Sullivan is Getting Married, Marion Keyes
    5.The Group, Mary McCarthy
    6.Bridget Jones’ Diary, Helen Fielding
    7.Into Thin Air, Jon Krakauer
    8.Waiting to Exhale Terry McMillan
    9. Catch Me If You Can, Frank Abagnale, Stan Redding
    10. Mystery of the Old Clock, Carolyn Keene
    11.Murder on the Orient Express, Agatha Christie
    12. The Cat in the Hat, Dr. Seuss
    13. I’ll Take Manhatten, Judith Krant
    14. Persuasion, Jane Austen
    15. Shopoholic Series, Sophie Kinsella

    Okay, my love of really funny chick lit is exposed. It’s mostly what I’ve read in the last 8 years since becoming a Mom … I need to escape and laugh out loud. Most I have read more than once. Several, you can tell, I read as a child. However I have read The Mystery of the Old Clock twice as an adult.

    H.

  2. Taylor Caldwell, now that’s a name that takes me back. My mom read all her novels and desperate for reading material one summer I also got hooked…

  3. seems there’s something about those books from our youth. perhaps our brains are simply more pliable then, and the chances of a book ‘sticking’ are greater! The Stand and Garp could have made my list, too!

    1. Us Stand people are a different breed. Garp was the book I was reading when I went off to university. A crucial moment and an eye opening approach to prose collided. It changed the way I wrote.

  4. In no particular order:

    1, A River Runs Through It – Norman Maclean
    2. Grapes of Wrath – John Steinbeck
    3. Uncle Tom’s Cabin – Harriet Beecher Stowe
    4. The Snows of Kilimanjaro – E. Hemingway
    5. The Count of Monte Cristo – Alexandre Dumas
    6. The Shack – Wm. Paul Young
    7. Odor of Chrysanthemums – D.H. Lawrence
    8. Moby Dick – Herman Melville
    9. The Adventures of Tom Sawyer – Mark Twain
    10. The Adventures of Huckleberry Finn – Mark Twain
    11. In a Far Country – John Taliaferro
    12. Gulliver’s Travels – Jonathan Swift
    13. The Big Two Hearted River, Parts I & II – E. Hemingway
    14. Endurance – Alfred Lansing
    15. The Murders in the Rue Morgue – E.A. Poe
    16. Zen & the Art of Motorcycle Maintenance – Robert Pirsig

    Just a partial list …. cheers !

    1. I almost put both Twain novels down. I would never dream of Moby Dick though. Read it in university. Really thought it meandered but I wasn’t reading it like a writer and there’s the key to that novel.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.