A Request to Know Me is the Monday Meme*

I was tagged by a new commenter at Nothing Fancy with a request for what amounts to more information about myself. As anyone who has read my blog for any amount of time knows, I don’t have any trouble at all writing about myself and I am TMI to a fault. So here goes:

The rules: Each player answers the questions about themselves. At the end of the post, the player then tags 5-6 people and posts their names, then goes to their blogs and leaves them a comment, letting them know they’ve been tagged and asking them to read your blog. Let the person who tagged you know when you’ve posted your answer.

(1)  What was I doing 10 years ago?

The summer of 1998 was the last hurrah for my inner party girl. Hard to believe that such an introvert could have been such a social butterfly but that was me. I did a lot of volunteer work via the Des Moines Jaycees, ran and swam a lot and generally had fun. It was the prelude to me realizing that what made me most happy was being with Will – who was around and waiting for me to realize it.

(2)  What are 5 (non-work) things on my to do list for today?

This is difficult because as a writer, I don’t work in any sense that is recognizable by the world at large. Even my “work” is not really work, or it doesn’t seem to be to me. And then, of course, there are the mom and housewife things which I won’t count either. Which leaves me with the following:

  • finishing my chai latte as I type this (and watching the curious sight of a young couple at the table over texting each other despite the fact their knees are practically touching)
  • pickiing up a few items at the grocery and health store
  • taking a stroll because the day is sunny and mild and begging me to come outdoors
  • beginning a list of things we will need on our trip to Iowa which is back on now that the flood waters seem to be receding
  • calling my best friend, who is a home-health care nurse, to find out about the qualifications for hospice care as my conversation with my mother today leads me to believe the end is getting close

(3)  What are my favorite snacks?

What the heck are snacks? I can’t eat anything that was processed within a mile of peanuts. Truthfully, I can’t eat anything processed, makes me sick as a dog. I have but one “snack” food and rarely have it in the house anymore – Nature’s Path Toaster Pastries – for some reason I can eat them. Otherwise its dried banana chips, raisins, cherries, grapes, baby carrots – I think you get the picture. Food allergies suck. 

(4)  Five things I would do if I were a billionaire.

  • tell my husband it was time for him to retire and pursue his dreams
  • buy an acreage with enough land to accommodate us and the grown girls and build a few houses
  • set up a fund that would allow people with dreams to apply for grants to fund them
  • make sure my folks, my Auntie Eileen, Rob’s mom (and Will’s though I don’t like her at all) were well-provided for
  • find ways to give it away because we don’t need much to live moderately and too much money corrupts a person’s core beliefs after a while

(5)  Places I have lived.

  • Iowa, U.S.A
  • Alberta, Canada

(6)  Jobs I have had.

  • English teacher
  • writer

(7)  Bloggers and friends I want to know more about.

I am not going to put undue pressure on anyone, so if this appeals to you (even just a single question) write a bit here or on your blog, and don’t forget to link back.

*I answered this meme pre-trip and before my brother’s suicide attempt.


4 thoughts on “A Request to Know Me is the Monday Meme*

  1. I did this meme awhile back, so I get to be lazy and post a link to my blog from April! 🙂 My answers

    I’m sorry about your brother. I wish the medical community would erase the stigma and do more to address the issue of mental illness.

    Love,
    Stella

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.